Looking back, looking forward

23 Mar

I believe that what applies most to the video making process is the application of ancient style.  Even though videos are spoken orally, they contain many of the elements of writing.  For example, I remember in my Tiger Woods analysis I discovered many examples of rhetor style.  I don’ t think I need to go back over my whole essay, but it just goes to show that writing and speech does not have that many differences.  The commercial process still needs a written script, and that script must evoke emotion (depending on what the commercial is about) or laughter, which is a part of the job description in rhetor style.  After beginning this process I’m beginning to see that Plato’s talk of how writing becomes artificial is a bit off to me.  Once again, scripts have to be written in videos, and these written scripts can be written so well that emotion can be evoked; taken off of a piece of paper, and applied in a video.

I’m beginning to think that although the methods of writing have evolved over the years (lambskin, paper and pencil, computers) it will never fade away.  Writing is something that is absolute.  We need it to communicate ideas, no matter what way we choose to do it.  In this world that is moving forward, no matter how technical savvy we become, we will always need that back up technology that has withstood the test of time.  I think that’s the conclusion I have come to for this project.  Speaking styles are greatly influenced by writing styles, and we cannot create a worthwhile movie, commercial, or TV show without writing to plan and organize them first.  The technology called writing has always been there, the only thing that has changed is the means of expression.

Leave a comment